Film and Digital Times: Canon EOS-1D X

Canon EOS-1D X | Film and Digital Times: News.

Sorry I haven’t posted much lately, loyal reader :).  There has been developments, just nothing that has particularly interested me.  This Canon is noteworthy, but only as a technology preview of what Canon will be announcing on November 3rd (I hate….HATE…..HATE the SLR form factor for video).  I’m assuming their Cinema camera will use an APS-C sensor (and not the full frame sensor of this camera) in order to match Super 35mm film and accept PL mount lenses easily.

The Sony F3 has a base ISO of 800. Given that this camera can “gain up” to 51,200 ISO, one wonders what an acceptable noise level will be that defines the base ISO of this camera.  3200?

Interesting that Canon is launching its next generation of full frame camera with this model rather than the 5D.  My guess is that this sensor will “trickle down” to that body style at a lower price in the coming months.