A behind the scenes tour of Really Right Stuff

A week ago, I happened to be in San Luis Obispo, California.  I was happily surprised to find out that SLO is home to Photo & Video accessory maker Really Right Stuff.  I had a contact from NAB, called them up, and they were nice enough to invite me down to have a look at their facility.

RRS is very well known in the Photographic world, but they’ve been making Video specific products for a few years now too.  As you’ll see in the video, they are now expanding into the Cinema accessories world.  They are making a “mini dovetail” system that builds on their Photographic mounts and clamps.  Does the world need another standard to join the ARRI dovetail and 3 different rod standards?  I think there is a possible niche there for smaller rigs, and they undeniably make beautiful gear stuff.  I’ll let you be the judge.

On a side note, these are the kind of reports that I hope to do more of for this blog.  I thank Holly, Joe and the rest of the crew at RRS for the access.

