Daring Fireball: The Mac Pro Lives

So, shortly before I let this blog lapse 5 years ago, I did a story on Apple’s apparent lack of interest in significantly updating their Mac Pros:

This was before they launched the “trash can”.  You know, can’t innovate any more my ass.  Then they proceeded to let it die on the vine with no significant updates for 3 years.

I like John Gruber.  He has integrity, and his writing is fair and logical.  He ends with:

“Ultimately, actions speak louder than words. But I very much like the words I heard yesterday.”

I think that’s being a little too kind to Apple’s management.  They’ve botched this for five years now.  And no hope in sight until next year, so potentially seven years.  But the fact that they’ve said “sorry” is supposed to have us kissing their ring.

Them saying “As we’ve said, we made something bold that we thought would be great for the majority of our Mac Pro users. And what we discovered was that it was great for some and not others. Enough so that we need to take another path.”

That sounds to me a lot like:

“We have come up with a solution that’s really, really I think very good…..Now, I have to tell you, it’s an unbelievably complex subject,……Nobody knew health care could be so complicated.”

So what is taking a company with Apple’s resources (essentially unlimited) 12 to 24 months to build a box with lots of CPUs and GPUs?  I mean Linus Sebastian could have this done in a day.

Maybe they’re making their own CPUs?  Or, maybe they’re making their own GPUs?  Just the very thing needed to drive whoever has hung around long enough from the Mac professional community directly into Wintel and Adobe CC forever.

Source: Daring Fireball: The Mac Pro Lives

