Neowin.net: Western Digital Becomes Worlds Largest Hard Drive Maker

Western Digital becomes worlds largest hard drive maker – Neowin.net.

I’m not sure this is a good thing, since that means there are now only 3 hard drive maufacturers in the world.  With traditional storage mediums like film and tape fading, is it wise to rely on so few manufacturers for the devices we need to create and store our work?

On a more macro note, I hate that WD installs their own software on external drives as hardware.  They have back-up programs and the like that can’t be removed by formatting the drive: it’s there whether you want it or not (usually not for me).  I had a rather frustrating experience trying to get my Sister’s Windows machine to work, and it turned out to be this permanent firmware on the external drive gumming up the start-up sequence.

